Kirk Franklin, “When I Get There”
The sun will shine and
My heart shall sing and
One thought of you Jesus
What joy it brings
My soul can't wait to
To see your face
I'll bless your name Jesus
When I get there

You'll wipe tears
You’ll say well done and
You’ll hold me close and
Tell me I’m overcome and
You will exchange
Joy for my pain
And I’ll praise your name Jesus
When I get there

C’mon
Let’s go (Let’s go)
We’ll cry (We’ll Cry)
No I won’t (No I won’t)
We’re gonna be just like Jesus
When we get there

C’mon
Hold On (Hold On)
It won’t (It won’t)
Be long (Be long)
We’re gonna be just like Jesus
When we get there

No more feeling alone ( no more feeling alone) ( I’m never alone)
And all my fears will be gone (and all my fears will be gone) (I’m never alone)
You tell me it won’t be long ( you tell me it won’t be long) (It won’t be long)
When you call my name
We shall be changed

Clap your hands uh
Houston, clap your hands uh
Houston, clap your hands uh
Houston, clap your hands uh
All my people can you clap your hands, what
All my people can you clap your hands, what
Houston, clap your hands uh
Make some noise

We’re gonna be just like Jesus
When we get there

This song, by artist Kirk Franklin, depicts Jesus as a symbol of rebirth and renewal and someone whose life is to be imitated in heaven.  Franklin sings about the joys of seeing Jesus’ face as well the happiness that seeing his face would mean.  Jesus is also portrayed as a “friend” in this song, as someone that will “wipe ‘your’ tears” and tell you that you have done a good job.  This song definitely appeals to people that want to see Jesus as a comforter and someone that will take care of them and listen to their problems.   Parts of this song a definitely directed at people who have had bad experiences and who may be down on their luck because the song talks about people who are “feeling alone” and telling these people that there troubles are just about over. This song really emphasizes the spiritual aspect of Jesus.  




Leave a Reply.