Thinking of Jesus as a historical being as well as a spiritual being is a frustrating idea for a person who has only looked at the Bible as fact for their entire life. For someone how was taught that the Bible was fact and that you shouldn’t really question the content, studying the historical Jesus is a discouraging experience. This, perhaps, is why C.S. Lewis said (in the Screwtape Letters) that the study of historical Jesus was a tool to throw Christians from their walk with Christ. I was becoming rather unnerved while reading this book, just because, not that I had been taught not to question (my parents were very into me learning and deciding things for myself), but I hadn’t really thought to, outside of expanding on the story. Because this topic is very frustrating for some people, myself included, I’m glad that Fisk chose the direction that he did, with the book. He makes it very clear that while the gospels are not 100% historically accurate, no matter how spiritually accurate they are, the reader needs to make the decision on what they believed happened.

                However the study of the historical Jesus should not be taken lightly. Anyone who wants an ever basic understanding of the historical Jesus needs to be able to look at the gospels objectively, and as literary sources, and not take them literally. I found this part particularly hard, especially coming from a Christian background. I found it very helpful that Fisk chose to look at both the spiritual and historical aspects of Jesus, and to explain why the gospel stories don’t always match up. As Dr. Reis pointed out, it’s how the reader looks at the stories of Jesus (if you see them as thick or thin, 2d or 3d) that determines how the reader views history that shapes their perception of Jesus.




Leave a Reply.