Part I

    This chapter involves Norm traveling to the sites of Jesus's many supposed miracles.  He compares the different accounts of his miracles and examines the slight differences between them, using both the Gospels and historically sound sources.  According to sources outside of Scripture, Jesus was known for doing astonishing acts or, as we have come to know them, 'mriacles'.  Most commonly known are th miracles of healing, feeding, and walking on water, all of which Norm discusses.  The similarities between the historical Jesus and the Jesus of faith as seen in the Gospels are repeatedly scrutinized in this chapter.  Norm is beginning to truly struggle with his faith: can he really be an honest scholar as well as a person of strong faith?

Part II

    This chapter brought a lot of questions to mind for me.  First, I never knew that Jesus was in fact known for being capable of seemingly supernatural acts.  To be completely honest, that took me by surprise.  I was ready to completely dismiss all of his miracles as fantastical stories invented by the authors of the Gospels to make Jesus fit his role as the son of God and the Messiah.  However, my point of view was shot down by the accuracy of these events.  It still made me question which Jesus is the true person, as the Gospels portray him so differently.  I found it interesting that the Gospel authors focused so much on miracles involving feeding and healing people as well as on the different roles water played in such acts.  My biggest question regarding this chapter is how can people take the Gospels word for word?  They clearly are incompatible, both regarding small details and larger ideas such as Jesus's character.  And yet so many people of faith that I have known take the Gospel at face value.  I find it intriguing and almost a little scary, and I'm looking forward to see what conclusion Norm will reach at the end of his journey.



Leave a Reply.