I would never have read this book on my own, and I wasn't too excited to read it for class.  However, after reading it I am very thankful for being made to read it.  It approached topics I've never even considered interesting before but now find fascinating.  The most interesting topic in this book for me has to be the relationship between John the Baptist and Jesus Christ.  It makes me want to know how exactly Jesus's status as Messiah came about and if he originally was a disciple of John.  I think the fact that the supposed Son of Jesus would ever have to study under someone else before venturing out on his own is absolutely fascinating.  Also, in a strange way, reading the chapter about the relationship between the two made me want to be friends with them.  I think the conversations between them would probably be some of the most thought-provoking exchanges I could ever imagine.  Plus, I am really wondering what their personalities were like and how different they were.

    Besides bringing up some topics that make me think, the biggest thing this book did for me was make me question my outlook.  Unlike most people in the class, I have never been a religious person.  Frankly, I think the Bible is just a book.  I don't think of it as something to be taken as fact or truth or even something that could make me believe in any kind of God.  However, learning that some of the happenings in the Bible were true makes me wonder if I have been too close-minded.  It makes me consider opening my mind to becoming a faithful person, and that for me is a big step.  It's o



Leave a Reply.