Dailey and Vincent- By the Mark
When I cross over
I will shout and sing
I will know my savior
By the mark where the
nails have been

CHORUS:

By the mark where the
nails have been
By the sign upon his precious skin
I will know my savior
when I come to him
By the mark where the
nails have been

A man of riches
May claim a crown of jewels
But the king of heaven
Can be told from the
prince of fools

CHORUS

On Cal- vary’s Mountain
Where they made him suffer so
All my sin was paid for
A long, long time ago

CHORUS

“Dailey and Vincent” is a bluegrass band that sings both regular bluegrass and gospel bluegrass.  The song By the Mark is a particular gospel song that has connected with many people and been one of the most popular songs the band has ever done.   By the Mark is simply as song about the nail scars (marks) on Jesus’ hands from when he was crucified and suffered on the cross.  The song begins by talking about how happy we will be when we cross over into heaven and recognize Jesus by the marks on his hands.  The song identifies Jesus as a man by referring in their lyrics to Jesus as him.  The song states that a rich man can be identified by his “crown of jewels,” while Jesus can be identified from the “prince of fools.”  This statement implies that Jesus was simply a human who walked amongst other individuals who were sinners.  He paid the ultimate sacrifice by giving up his own life on the cross in order to pay for our sins.




Leave a Reply.