“This is God” – Phil Vassar

Hey, this is God
Can I please have your attention
There's a need for intervention
Man, I'm disappointed in what I'm seeing
Yeah, this is God
You fight each other in my name
Treat life like it's a foolish game
I'd say you've got the wrong idea

Oh, all I'm asking for is love
Well I've seen you hurt yourselves enough
Oh, I've been waiting on a change in you

Yeah, this is God
I've given everything to you
But look at what you do to the world that I created
This is God
What's with this attitude and hate
You grow more ignorant with age
You had it made, now look at all you've wasted

Oh, all I'm asking for is love
Oh, I've seen you hurt yourselves enough
Oh, I've been waiting on a change in you, yeah

I know your every thought, your heart and soul and every move
There are so many consequences to the things you do
All I'm asking for is love
Haven't you hurt yourselves enough
Oh, I've been waiting on a change in you
A change in you, oh This is God


This song by Phil Vassar is written about God’s feelings about the way Christians behave. In the song God notices that his people are not appreciating everything he has done for them. God is disappointed with “what you do” and looks at the world he created and wonders about the turn of the world. He calls Christians to “love your neighbor as yourself” in Mark 12:31; this is
an argument to the line about attitude and hate today. God wants his people to follow him and not hurt themselves anymore. This also shows that God is a caring God, wanting the best for his people. He is also angry and feeling as though his people do not appreciate him as much as they should. At the end of his disappointment in his people, it said “I’ve been waiting on a change in you” which implies God wishes Christians would follow him more closely. 




Leave a Reply.