1.      In chapter one of A Hitchhiker’s Guide to Jesus it gives us insight about what the rest of the book is going to be about. This story is about a guy named “Norm” who is a college graduate who is traveling to the Holy land to study more about Jesus. He feels that if he were to ask some of the questions that he has in church that he would almost be a traitor. It starts out with him on the plane sitting beside the two passengers. At first he thinks Dorothy is snobby, but by the end of the chapter he starts thinking differently about her. Everything from this chapter comes from three different Romans that he studied. Those three Romans are Pliny, Tacitus, and Josephus. Most of this first chapter deals with the conversation between Dorothy and Norm.

2.      To me the most interesting part of this chapter was the conversation that happened while on the plane. In a way I think Dorothy really challenged Norm with some of the questions she had for him and I think that in return this all surprised him because I don’t think that he was expecting any of this out of her. The part that stuck out the most to me was when he said that "Each of us views the world from somewhere, so all judgements are provisional" (27). I really liked this and I took it that it means that all of us has our own view of the world so therefore no two ways of looking at the world are alike. It also means that no matter what my view may be on the world someone else is going to want to change that view into what there views of the world are.  




Leave a Reply.