This book was quite an interesting read for me and really made me think about Jesus in a different way.  The information in the book put up a lot of challenge for those who are quite religious and especially for those who have not really thought about the historical Jesus.  I myself had never thought into the history of Jesus, at least not in the depth that Norm looks at it.  Everyone sees Jesus in a different light and with that, everyone approached this book with a different opinion and initial thoughts.  I think that C.S. Lewis did an incredible job laying out the facts and leaving it open for interpretation for the reader.  I enjoyed also seeing Norm’s spiritual and intellectual maturation throughout his journey.  I enjoyed seeing the different reactions Norm had to the different situations he was put in.  His faith was something that he almost had to put aside while he was on his journey.  The book was very matter of fact, told the story how it is currently known and pointed out the flaws and gaps in some of the scriptures.  It also justified and backed up other scriptures from the bible.  This book definitely challenged some things that people do believe to just be true.  Things like the miracle stories and the resurrection.  Honestly these stories seem just that to me, stories.  I liked that the book pointed out the three views of scholars in terms of the history of the gospels.  Overall I was very glad to have read this book, it opened my eyes and also shed some new light on my spiritual views.  




Leave a Reply.